Day 3 - Improvement

Today was a better day than yesterday, as I was able to resolve an issue that had been troubling me. I had been trying to create a sample extension using SQL, but had been stuck on the makefile part. I spent an hour browsing through Stack Exchange and tried posting a question, but unfortunately, my question did not pass the review process. I then turned to completing the Python extension plv8, but still ran into some issues, despite going through its GitHub documentation thoroughly. Eventually, I gave up and decided to tackle the problem the following day.

The next day, I decided to look for similar projects that had been done previously by Postgres contributors. I came across a project done by Liudmila Mantrova during the Google Season of Docs program.

GSOD Project Details:

https://developers.google.com/season-of-docs/docs/2019/participants/project-postgresql

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1j9PHJTyt_yVKoKZuCWeQsFMAGaDTMyag8NLd5STzGgs/edit

I reached out to her via email and received some valuable tips and insights for my own project. After consulting with my mentors regarding the similarity of our projects, I realized that my vision for the project was a little out of scope. However, I still gained a lot from the conversation and realigned my focus accordingly. I explored the project deliverables in more detail and gained further knowledge on the relevant topics.

I then attempted to create an extension again, but failed miserably. I realized the need for a tutorial and spent a significant amount of time scrolling through various answers, but could not find a solution to my issue of adding the postgres.h file in my compiler path. Eventually, I gave up for the day, hoping to tackle the problem again in the future.

This experience has taught me that there is a steep learning curve when it comes to creating extensions, even after spending various hours i couldn't make a simple extension. Hope for a better result tomorrow.